Mobile/Tablet Menu

Desktop Menu

Search Container

Elementary Science Pilot & Adoption Committee

The Elementary Science Pilot and Adoption process is moving into the piloting phase for the 2021-22 school year, with the intent of presenting a recommendation for adoption to the Board of Education in the spring of 2022. Over the last two years, the committee, consisting of representatives from each grade level and elementary school site, has completed the exploration phase and prescreened all 12 approved science curriculums using the California Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS) Toolkit for Instructional Material Evaluation (TIME).

Through prescreening, five curricula were chosen to review during the paper screening phase. Most recently, the committee voted on the three curricula that will be piloted during the 2021-22 school year: Twig Science (Twig Education), California Inspire Science (McGraw Hill), and National Geographic Learning Exploring Science (Cengage).

The Elementary Science Pilot & Adoption Committee is a community-based committee consisting of teachers, specialists, administrators, and parents, working in alignment with Board Policy 6161.1.

Thank you very much to the interested elementary parents who applied to be on the Science Committee for the 2021-22 school year. The positions have been filled and the applicants have been notified.