The Recommending School Names Advisory Committee will research, review, and recommend new names for David Starr Jordan Middle School and Terman Middle School by March 31, 2018. Recommended names need to fall within the parameters of Board Policy 7310 – Naming of Facility.

+
Meetings
+
Committee Members
Recommending School Names Advisory Committee Members
Name Affiliation Email
Armstrong, Sara   saraannruth@gmail.com
Cordell, LaDoris   ladoris@judgecordell.com
Hendricks, Karen Superintendent khendricks@pausd.org
Levy, Leland   Leland.levy@wfadvisors.com lejudy@sbcglobal.net
Longstreth, Owen   olongstreth@gmail.com
Martinson, Sarah   sarahmartinsonscm@gmail.com
Ofek, Sharon CAO – Secondary Ed sofek@pausd.org
Pianetta, Ann   annpianetta@me.com
Schmid, Greg   gregschmid@sbcglobal.net
Shabtabi, Michelle Parent michelleshabtai@yahoo.com
Talbot, Katie Parent katiea.talbot@hotmail.com
Ullman, Peter   p_ullman@comcast.net
Wheeler, Keith Coordinator – Equity kwheeler@pausd.org
Woodham, Sara Parent sawoodham@gmailcom
+
Timeline & Outreach
  1. Timeline
    • Dec.12 - Begin Outreach
    • Jan. 20 - Cut-off for Submissions
    • Jan. 29 - Begin Discussion of Names
    • Feb.19 - Finalize Report to Board
    • Feb. 26 - Submit to Board
    • Mar.13 - Board Meeting
  2. Distribute Nomination Form
    1. Outreach
      1. Objectives
        • Reach the broadest cross-section of Palo Alto, Los Altos Hills, & Stanford
        • Not scientific or statistically valid
      2. Implementation
        • PAUSD Website
        • Media
        • Schools
        • Libraries
        • City Hall
        • Lucy Stern
        • Art Center
        • Children’s Zoo
        • Kiwanis
        • Rotary
        • Chamber of Commerce
        • League of Women Voters
        • Neighborhood Associations Websites
        • Religious Organizations
        • Palo Alto Historical Association
        • Palo Alto Players
        • Theatreworks
      3. Tabulation
        • Proposed School Name
        • Reason
Committee Start/End Date: 
Monday, October 16, 2017 to Tuesday, March 27, 2018