Press Release
December 21, 2017
December 21, 2017

The School District’s Recommending School Names Advisory Committee is actively seeking community involvement in recommending new names for Jordan and Terman Middle Schools. 

The Committee was formed by former Superintendent Max McGee after the Board of Education voted to rename the two schools due to the leadership roles their namesakes, David Starr Jordan and Lewis Terman, played in the eugenics movement during the early years of the last century.

The Committee will submit a list of recommended names at the Board’s first meeting in March. Between now and January 22, 2018, they are asking the public to submit their nominations on the committees webpage. Hardcopy nominating forms are also available at the public libraries and at all Palo Alto schools.

Recommendations cannot be accepted after January 22, 2018.

Recommendations cannot be accepted after January 22, 2018.

The Board’s established policy, Naming of  Facilities (BP 7310), reads as follows:

The Board of Education may name district schools and other … facilities in recognition of:

  1.  Individuals, living or deceased, and entities that have made outstanding contributions, including financial contributions, to the school community
  2.  Individuals, living or deceased, who have made outstanding contributions or statewide, national, or worldwide significance
  3.  The geographic area in which the school …is located

The Board has also stipulated that, to avoid confusion as required by BP 7310, names with the words Jordan or Terman will not be considered.

The cutoff date for the submission of names is January 22, 2018.

The Recommending School Names Advisory Committee consists of the following community members, students, and school staff:

Sara Armstrong                   Sarah Martinson                 Michelle Shabtabi              Sara Woodham

LaDoris Cordell                    Sharon Ofek                         Kate Talbot                          Keith Wheeler

Leland Levy                          Ann Pianetta                        Peter Ullman                       Greg Schmid

Owen Longstreth

For more information please contact:

Sharon Ofek, 650.329.3717 | Leland D Levy, 650.330.3820

The nomination form is located on the committee webpage, at the public libraries, and at each school.  We would be grateful if it could be included with any article so members of the public could use it to propose names.